StrataFrame Forum

Concurrency Using RowVersion Problem

http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic15079.aspx

By Jeff Pagley - 3/21/2008

Hi Guys,

As I have said before, I am a part time programmer and seem to be little rusty all of the time.  With that said, after following the help instructions, I am unable to get SF concurrency using RowVersioning to work.  User A and User B are editing the same record at the same time using the code below.  User A saves the record.  Then User B saves the record and the BO does not throw an exception.  What am I doing wrong?  Thanks for the help!

I have the following properties set on the ContactsBO:

CollisionNoficationType = ThrowException

RowVersionOrTimestampColumn = ContactRowVersion (datatype int - allow nulls)

UpdateConcurrencyType = OptimisticRowVersion

Code Below..............................

Using loBO As New ContactsBO

loBO.FillByPrimaryKey(contactID)

If loBO.IsEmpty Then

Return False

Else

loBO.Edit()

loBO.UserID = GlobalVariables.CurrentUserID

loBO.Save()

Return True

End If

End Using

Catch ex As MicroFour.StrataFrame.Data.DataLayerException

MsgBox("DataLayerException ex = " & ex.Message)

Return False

Catch ex As MicroFour.StrataFrame.Data.DataLayerSavingException

MsgBox("DataLayerSavingExeption ex = " & ex.Message)

Return False

Catch ex As MicroFour.StrataFrame.Data.RowNotUpdatedException

MsgBox("RowNotUpdateExeption ex = " & ex.Message)

Return False

Catch ex As Exception

Ems.HandleException(Me, ex)

Return False

End Try

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/21/2008

Well the good news is that I know that there isn't an issue with the RowVersion concurrency...this is probably the most common concurrency logic used Smile.  So we will want to look at your code a little closer.