StrataFrame Forum

VS 2008 driving me crazy...

http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic17518.aspx

By Greg McGuffey - 7/1/2008

The editor in VS 2008 keeps autohiding my properties, while I'm typing in them. I.e. I have a standard property, with xml comments, like:



Private _myProp As Integer



'''<Summary>

''' I'll be typing here especially and the damn thing hides itself on me...

''' </Summary>

''' etc.

Public Property MyProp() As Integer

Get

Return _myProp

End Get

Set(value As Integer)

_myProp = value

End Set

End Property




When it hides itself it'll look like:



private _myProp As Integer...




Any idea on how to alter this behavior?
By Trent L. Taylor - 7/2/2008

You're saying that VS is taking the property code from above and converting it into a private?!?!?!  I have never experienced or even heard of anything even remotely close to this type of behavior if that is what you are saying!  Crazy
By Greg McGuffey - 7/2/2008

No, no, no...I'm saying that it takes the top code and collapses it (aka regions) into the bottom code. I.e. it doesn't do anything to the code, just hides...while I'm typing in it. Driving me crazy. The "..." indicates there is hidden code, you double click on that and the code is expanded again. Does that make sense?
By Trent L. Taylor - 7/2/2008

Gotcha....the only thing that I could think of is that something along the lines of a hot key or macro combination is firing the outline collapse command.  You can do this through hotkeys and macros, so I wonder if yours has changed from the defaults or something along those lines.  I could definitely see how that could get irritating!
By Greg McGuffey - 7/2/2008

What ever it is, it's a sneaky little basta....er...weasel. No macros that I can find are defined. It usually happens when I'm not typing, like when I pause for a second. I'm still looking into keyboard short cuts.
By Trent L. Taylor - 7/2/2008

Dude...your computer is possessed BigGrin
By Bill Cunnien - 7/2/2008

Have you tried some duct tape?
By Paul Chase - 7/3/2008

Greg,

Look under edit - outlining , I use the short cuts there to collapse and expand code sections and regions but never had it do it by itself.

By Greg McGuffey - 7/3/2008

Bill Cunnien
Have you tried some duct tape?


Yeah. I tried that first. At first I was using an open source duck tape, but it fell off my LCD every time a MS program was used. Then I tried to use Duck Code Tape 2.0 (tm)(c) from MS directly, but there was a bug where the tape would only scroll with the regions if I was scrolling down, so I had to remove it. When I took the tape off, it mangled my code, turning it into C# with calls to unmanaged assembly code. Thanks for the suggestion though Tongue



Look under edit - outlining , I use the short cuts there to collapse and expand code sections and regions but never had it do it by itself.


Paul, I assume you mean Tools|Options|Keyboard right? I don't see anything there yet, but I'm investigating.
By Bill Cunnien - 7/3/2008

When I took the tape off, it mangled my code, turning it into C# with calls to unmanaged assembly code.

LOL Laugh Laugh Laugh

By Paul Chase - 7/3/2008

Greg ,

I'm talking about outlining under  Edit.. you need to be in a source file for the munu option to show, shortcut is it is like Ctrl M + Ctrl M

By Greg McGuffey - 7/3/2008

Gotcha. OK, I'll look into that.