StrataFrame Forum

BO and BBS with Sharpshooter

http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic22341.aspx

By Ross L. Rooker, Sr. - 3/12/2009

Trying to confirm something about Sharpshooter filter parameters within Sharpshooter itself.

I have a VIEW that defines what tables need to be related and how. Created a SF BO to be able to map the VIEW to a BO. Then created a Custom BBS on the BO.

Naturally until a call is made to fill the BO no data is filled.

If you reference the BBS in the Sharpshooter report as a Datasource, then put filter expression on the report as parameters, will Sharpshooter return:

A. All data to fill the BO and then filter based on the Sharpshooter filter expressions? , or

B. Does Sharpshooter generate a SQL SELECT with the parameters already built into the SELECT statement thereby returning only the ropws needed?

From what I can see, I believe "A." is what Sharpshooter does.

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/12/2009

Yeah, A is correct.  However, we generally do not rely on RSS to filter our BOs.  You are far better off doing this within the BO itself when referenced.   For example, of you have Customers and CusztomerOrders, I will create two CustomBBS classes, one for each.  Then I will make CustomerOrders a child property exposed from within the report CustomersBO.

Namespace Reports.MyReport

Public Class CustomersBO
    Inherits MyApp.Business.CustomersBO

    Private Shared _CustomerOrders As New Reports.MyReport.CustomerOrdersBO()

    Public Readonly Property CustomerOrders As CustomerOrdersBO
          Get
                If me.Count > 0 Then
                     _CustomerOrders.Filter = "ForeignKey=" & Me.MyPrimaryKey.ToString()
                End If

                Return _CustomerOrders
          End Get
    End Property
End Class

End namespace

You will then reference the CustomerOrders as the data source within the database you are using in RSS.  This is far safer and more reliable...not to mention faster.

By hector - 2/23/2010

Hi Trent,

I am newbie to SF.

Can u supply me a good working example using this technique in reporting?

Kind regards....

By Edhy Rijo - 2/23/2010

Hi Hector and welcome to the forums.



There are several RSS samples in the forums, just do a search using "sharpshooter" to find those messages.



Also the StrataFlix sample application uses this technique but with .Net Reports instead, but you can get the idea on how to implement it.
By Les Pinter - 2/23/2010

Hi All,

   I'm just finishing a series of articles on SSRS reporting, so stay tuned to LesPinter.com...

Les

By Trent L. Taylor - 2/24/2010

Hey Hector,



As Edhy mentioned, StrataFrame comes with a robust sample called StrataFlix which shows how to create a report using StrataFrame Business Objects. In this sample we just use RDL reports which can be downloaded for free and is commonly used by .NET developers. However, in our medical application we use (and recommend) Report Sharp Shooter by Perpetuum Software. We have been very pleased with this reporting engine and it has proven to be robust enough to handle some pretty major demands from within our medical application.