By Bill Cunnien - 6/18/2009
I am attempting to edit/save (aka update) selected BO's represented on a grid. Here is the code that I am using to accomplish this seemingly easy task:
waitWindow1.Message = "Updating the following parts . . . \r";
waitWindow1.ShowWaitWindow();
int[] mRows = gridView1.GetSelectedRows();
for (int i = 0; i < gridView1.SelectedRowsCount; i++)
{
int mPartIndex = (int)gridView1.GetRowCellValue(mRows[i], "partindex");
if (partsBO1.SeekToPrimaryKey(mPartIndex))
{
waitWindow1.Message += partsBO1.partnum + "\r";
partsBO1.Edit();
if (chkProdAppend.Checked) { partsBO1.prodnotes += txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkProdReplace.Checked) { partsBO1.prodnotes = txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkShipAppend.Checked) { partsBO1.shipnotes += txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkShipReplace.Checked) { partsBO1.shipnotes = txtNewNote.Text; }
partsBO1.Save();
}
}
waitWindow1.HideWaitWindow();
The result of this code is that only the first and last record are updated. All other selected parts in between are ignored. Each part number shows up in the WaitWindow as I cycle through the selected records; however, only the first and last records are actually persisted to the database.
Any ideas?
Thanks,
Bill
|
By Edhy Rijo - 6/18/2009
Hi Bill,
Not sure if this is your case, but it looks like the BO.CurrentRow.RowState is not being set to Modified when you edit it.
Until you find what may be causing this, you could use the following code to force the RowState to the desired state so all records can be saved, the code is in VB (sorry )
If BO.CurrentRow.RowState = Data.DataRowState.Unchanged Then
BO.CurrentRow.SetModified()
End If
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
Edhy...thanks. Here is what I introduced to my code just before the Save() call:
if (partsBO1.CurrentRow.RowState == DataRowState.Unchanged) { partsBO1.CurrentRow.SetModified(); }
It had no effect. After a bit more investigation, I am discovering that the item that has the focus is getting updated at the server...so it is not the first and last as I originally thought. This is still strange since I am actually hitting each select BO in my code and calling the Edit() and Save() methods on the record. I am still missing something. It is like some kind of commit is not happening while using the seek except for the focused BO.
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
Now...here's some more data for us to ponder...
The screenshot (attached) shows the three items that I selected to replace the shipping note with the word "cool". You cannot tell, but I purposely selected the first record, too, but then deselected it and left the focus on that row. When I click the "Apply Selected" button, the three items I have selected are indeed the only three that are cycled in my code (I watched them in the debugger); however, the strange thing is that the first, unselected item was updated and the second item (the first selected item) was updated. The last two items were untouched.
I thought a fresh start this morning would help things, but it has only gotten worse.
Perhaps half a cup of coffee is not enough. Need more coffee.
Bill
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/19/2009
OK, there can be a number of things going on here. First, you are using a grid and trying to seek within grid events...thins can get hairy because the grid ultimately wants control. the ONLY way this can happen...seriously...the ONLY way is if the BO is navigated to these records. So one of the following this is going on:
1. The grid is navigating to these records when when getting the values.
2. You have a sort or filter applied (or the grid is applying one)
3. The planets are beginning to align for a total eclipse!
Possible Resolutions or Debugging Ideas:
1. Remove any filters and/or sorts
2. Put a break point in the navigating event of the BO and then look at the call stack to see what is navigating the BO.
3. USE A LISTVIEW In this particular screen shot, I see no reason for the grid. Grids are fat and have a ton of overhead. When just displaying row elements that are maintained OUTSIDE of the grid, you are asking for trouble. Just my 2 cents!
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
3. The planets are beginning to align for a total eclipse!
That's it!!!
I'll start by replacing the grid with a list. We'll see what happens after that. Thanks (as always) for the tip!
Bill
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
Ok. The ListView displays the data from a query within its own assigned business object. I can even copy the data from the form's business object after the current data table is refilled. That work nicely to pick up the browse dialog's search results. But I need the list to directly reflect the business object on the form and to navigate the business object when the pointer changes on the ListView. I do not see how to get these two items to work in tandem. Also, even though I have set the ListView to multi-select, only one row at a time can be selected.
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
AutoNavigateToSelectedRecord
Setting this to true did the trick of synchronizing the list to the BO.
Now, I just need to get the multi-select feature to work.
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/19/2009
You will have to set the MultiSelect property to true in code. It is overwritten by the default class (to resolve other issues fought in the past). So after the OnLoad, set this and you should be good.
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
Yepper...that was the ticket.
So far, we have replaced that fat grid with a thin list. The list is playing nicely with the BO on the form and I can multi-select the items on the list.
Now, when I rifle through the selected items and try to seek to that record...the edit/save routine does not work. The wait window displays the selected parts (see code above), but does not actually persist my change.
Still at square one. But, I did learn some things.
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/19/2009
What does your code look like now? Also, why are you calling edit? As you as you make a change the BO will become dirty. So there is really no need to place the BO in edit mode.
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
Here's the code...I did take out the Edit(). I am now testing without it. I'll let you know if that changes anything.
for (int i = 0; i < listPartNum.SelectedItems.Count; i++)
{
int mPartIndex = (int)listPartNum.SelectedItems[i].Tag;
if (partsBO1.SeekToPrimaryKey(mPartIndex))
{
waitWindow1.Message += partsBO1.partnum + "\r";
if (chkProdAppend.Checked) { partsBO1.prodnotes += txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkProdReplace.Checked) { partsBO1.prodnotes = txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkShipAppend.Checked) { partsBO1.shipnotes += txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkShipReplace.Checked) { partsBO1.shipnotes = txtNewNote.Text; }
partsBO1.Save();
}
}
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/19/2009
If I select the first four in the list...only the first one is persisted.
If I pick the second through the fourth...only the second one (first in my selected items) is persisted.
I have got to take off. I'll try to check in later today to see if I can try working on this again.
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/19/2009
First, I would use a foreach. I would do something more like this:
foreach(ListViewItem i in listPartNum.SelectedItems)
{
//-- Find the item
if(!partsBO1.SeekToPrimaryKey((int)i.Tag)) { continue; }
//-- Update the record
if (chkProdAppend.Checked) { partsBO1.prodnotes += txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkProdReplace.Checked) { partsBO1.prodnotes = txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkShipAppend.Checked) { partsBO1.shipnotes += txtNewNote.Text; }
if (chkShipReplace.Checked) { partsBO1.shipnotes = txtNewNote.Text; }
}
//-- Save outside of the loop
partsBO1.Save();
|
By Edhy Rijo - 6/19/2009
Hi Bill,
Adding to Trent's reply, I have a this suggestion:
1- I use the ListView extensively, and in your case, I would use the ListView.Checked property instead of MultiSelect, with this you will have better control on what records are currently checked since the list view has a collection for it, and it will be easier for the End User to just click the box or double click the record to check it. (See attached screenshoot)
If Me.lstTransactionItems.CheckedItems.Count > 0 Then
For Each listItem As ListViewItem In Me.lstTransactionItems.Items
If listItem.Checked Then
If Me.BizTransactionItemsForListView.SeekToPrimaryKey(listItem.Tag) Then
Me.BizTransactionItemsForListView.DeleteCurrentRow(True)
End If
End If
Next
Me.lstTransactionItems.Requery()
End If
As you can see, in my case I am deleting the current row, but you'll get the idea, and of course my code is in VB
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/22/2009
Hi Edhy,
I did try using the checked property; however, the user loses the range select (click, shift-click) option. The user would prefer to do that than click 30+ checkboxes.
Trent, I tried that code, but I am getting the same results. Only the first record is getting persisted; however, all selected items are being seeked because the part number shows up in the wait window perfectly.
I am tackling this again today. After a really nice weekend, hopefully, I'll be able to conquer this pesky little issue.
Thanks!!
Ling
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/22/2009
Then there has to be something either set within your BO or some other logic moving the CurrentRowIndex because I have done this repeatedly. You are welcome to supply a sample, but I know that this will work as it is a common piece of logic.
|
By Bill Cunnien - 6/22/2009
There was other logic resetting CheckButton. I discovered that and replaced the CheckButtons with a RadioGroup (a little cleaner). I was able to remove all of my extra fancy code to manage the checkbuttons and now the form works as expected. It is clean and fast! Thanks for all the help!!
Have a great day!
Bill
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/23/2009
Glad you got to the bottom of it!
|