StrataFrame Forum

BrowseResultsListView

http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic25267.aspx

By Chris Diesel - 11/24/2009

I have a need to get to the BrowseResultsListView from the main BrowseDialog object.  The only reference to this I can find is via the InformationPanel.BrowseDialogWindowReference.  Is there a property for this from the browsedialog itself or is there a reference to the InformationPanel object?  Thanks!
By Greg McGuffey - 11/24/2009

I'm not an expert using the BrowseDialog, so this is just based on what I'm seeing in source. As you already have determined, it has neither access to the BrowseDialogWindow nor direct access to the BrowseResultsListView. As I look at how the class works, I'm not sure I understand how you could ever have access the BrowseResultsListView. The only time the BrowseDialogWindow exists is within the ShowDialog method, which uses the ShowDialog method on the BrowseDialogwindow.



If you need to access the data that is filling the listview, you'd use the BusinessObjectToPopulate, which will be filled with the results after the search.
By Chris Diesel - 11/25/2009

Thanks for the reply!  What I'm actually looking for though is a way to access the listview object from within a method of my class that inherits from the BrowseDialog.  I would like to save off the column widths when the dialog is closed.  It appears I might be able to use the BrowseResultsLayout.BrowseColumns[colIndex].ColumnHeaderWidth to access the column widths, but it looks like this is used only to set them.  Am I doing something wrong or is there another way to accomplish this?  Thanks!
By Trent L. Taylor - 11/30/2009

You can do this on the Standard SF BrowseDialog as we give direct access to all of those objects. Please review the other post regarding the DevEx BrowseDialog for more information about the DevEx version.
By Chris Diesel - 11/30/2009

I can't find the SF BrowseDialog's property name that is a direct access to the BrowseResultsListView without going through the BrowseDialogInformationPanel? 

Also, I see the BrowseResultsLayout.BrowseColumns collection, but the BrowseHeaderWidth property does not seem to be updated with column widths that are interactively changed by the user at runtime, but only used to set column widths on initialization.

I appreciate any help! BigGrin

By Trent L. Taylor - 11/30/2009

I can't find the SF BrowseDialog's property name that is a direct access to the BrowseResultsListView without going through the BrowseDialogInformationPanel?




No. You actually have to get to this through the info panel.



Also, I see the BrowseResultsLayout.BrowseColumns collection, but the BrowseHeaderWidth property does not seem to be updated with column widths that are interactively changed by the user at runtime, but only used to set column widths on initialization.




As for the widths of the columns, these are all set through properties for the browse columns even when going through the designer. So these can be set programatically at run-time...however, they are not modified once adjusted. This would require a program change. We save pretty much everything else off via the registry (if set). This may be something that we want to add.
By Chris Diesel - 11/30/2009

Ok, at least I'm not going crazy! w00t

Is there a property that gives me access to the information panel object from the browsedialog (not just the information panel string name)?

By Trent L. Taylor - 11/30/2009

No, since you are never actually "in" the BrowseDialog, just the info panel. I see what you are trying to do and these are some good enhancement ideas. We will catalog them for the next set of modifications made here.