StrataFrame Forum

How to pass a method as a parameter

http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic30263.aspx

By Ger Cannoll - 8/23/2011

I want to set up a General Purpose type method which will have two parameters, a Business Object, and a Method Name of the business object. The method then needs to just run the method.

e.g.

private void RunABoMethod(BusinessObject myBo, Methodname MyMethodname))
{
      myBO.MyMethodname;
}
so some examples of how this might be called:
RunABoMethod(CustomerBO,"GetAllrecords");
or
RunABomethod(StockBO,"GetTop20");

Any suggestions / coding examples on how this might be accomplished (c#) would be appreciated. A few searches indicate that Func (Dot Net 3.5) or delgates could be used but I have no experience of using these constructs
By Edhy Rijo - 8/23/2011

Hi Gerard,

Based on your sample, it looks like you want to have a set of methods to be able to use them from any BO.  If that is the case, then it is pretty simple:
  1. Create a BO base class and inherit it from MicroFour.StrataFrame.Businesss.BusinessLayer
  2. Add any public methods you want to be available to all BOs.
  3. Inherit the base BO in any new BO and use your methods.
Here is a sample code I have on my Base BO.  I use VB.
    ''' <summary>
     ''' This method will return all records from this BO TableName.
     ''' </summary>
     ''' <remarks></remarks>
     Public Overridable Sub FillAllRecords()
         Using cmd As New SqlCommand()
             cmd.CommandType = CommandType.Text
             cmd.CommandText = String.Format("Select * From {0}"Me.TableNameAndSchema)
             '-- Set the ORDER BY clause if filled.
             If Not String.IsNullOrEmpty(Me.SortColumnFieldList) Then
                 cmd.CommandText += " ORDER BY " & Me._SortColumnFieldList
             End If
             Me.FillDataTable(cmd)
         End Using
     End Sub