By Chris Diesel - 9/13/2012
I'm probably looking right past it, but is there a way to get the strataframe menu added to Visual Studio 2012 environment?
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 9/13/2012
You have to create a new addins file that supports 2012 in the MSEnvShared folder. For example, this would be the path:
C:\Users\MyUserName\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\MSEnvShared\AddIns
I have attached that file here in a ZIP. So here are the steps:
- Get out of Visual Studio
- Copy the attached AddIns file to: C:\Users\[YourUserName]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\MSEnvShared\AddIns
- Open the StrataFrame2012.Addin file in Notepad or some other text editor.
- In the line: <Assembly>C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\MicroFour\StrataFrame\MicroFour StrataFrame AddIns.dll</Assembly>, update the path to match your local installation.
- Save the file.
- Go back into Visual Studio 2012 and it should be there.
|
By Edhy Rijo - 9/13/2012
Hi Trent,
Does that mean, that we can upgrade to VS2012 & MS-SQL 2012 now? or do we need to wait for an SF update?
P.S. Many interesting things to start using VS2012 .Net4.5 like Async features.
|
By Chris Diesel - 9/14/2012
Works like a charm! Thank you very much!
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 9/14/2012
Technically you could, but if you run into issues we won't technically support it until we push out a build. We will have a new build fairly soon that will support both. As you noticed already, it is easy to make SF work with VS 2012 even without a build. So there won't be a ton of changes that are required to move forward.
|
By Terry Bottorff - 9/15/2012
I tried your solution and I get Strataframe to show up on the VS12 menu and when I click on the Create Strataframe Toolbar Tab I get the following error?
ArgumentNullException Value cannot be null. Parameter name: sp
Source : Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell
Stack Trace:
at Microsoft.VisualStudio.Shell.ServiceProvider..ctor(IServiceProvider sp, Boolean defaultServices) at MicroFour.StrataFrame.Extensibility.ExtensibilityBasics.ᜂ() at MicroFour.StrataFrame.Extensibility.ExtensibilityBasics.get_CurrentVsServiceProvider() at MicroFour.StrataFrame.AddIns.MenuBasics.ᜀ(DTE2 A_0)
What did I do wrong? TIA
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 9/15/2012
Honestly, I am not sure. The stack trace doesn't show anything StrataFrame related. Are you getting the error right when you click on StrataFrame or when you click on something once the StrataFrame menu opens?
|
By Terry Bottorff - 9/15/2012
I click the StrataFrame Menu and go down it and click on the Create Strataframe Toolbox Tab. Then instantly I get the error.
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 9/17/2012
That is a change that we will have to make. You can still use the BO Mapper, DDT, localization, etc. But the toolbox items have to be created differently in VS2012.
|
By Terry Bottorff - 9/17/2012
OK. Thanks.
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 9/18/2012
Terry:
One other thought...you know that you can manually add them to a toolbox, right? The menu item just makes it easier, but you can manually create a toolbox tab and then select the MicroFour StrataFrame UI.dll and the MicroFour StrataFrame UI Expanded.dll to bring in all of the SF controls to the toolbox.
|
By Terry Bottorff - 9/18/2012
Cool. That will get me thru using my laptop until the new Version 2 comes out and I can do it the correct way.
It worked. Thanks....
|