By Charles Thomas Blankenship - 10/9/2014
When I log into the application using "secusr" and password, I can test to see if that account has the permission to access the security editor or not (and appropriately enable or disable the associated button). But, when I launch the form as "secusr" I receive a unhelpful error message "Access denied".
Here is a short video.
if (SecurityBasics.CurrentUser.GetPermission("Security Editor").Action == PermissionAction.Grant) { cmdSecurity.Enabled = true; } else if (SecurityBasics.CurrentUser.UserPK == -2) { cmdSecurity.Enabled = true; } else { cmdSecurity.Enabled = false; }
Another oddity that shouldn't "be" is the request for "Security Editor" permission should be "Grant" for both the "secusr" and "administrator" account ... isn't that the way of it?
|
By Ivan George Borges - 10/9/2014
In the "AppMain.vb / Program.cs", have you set the SecurityMaintenanceUserName as bellow?
SecurityBasics.SecurityMaintenanceUserName = "YourSecurityMaintenanceUsername" SecurityBasics.SecurityMaintenancePassword = "YourSecurityMaintenancePassword" SecurityBasics.SecurityMaintenanceUserPk = -2
|
By Charles Thomas Blankenship - 10/13/2014
Yes ...
SecurityBasics.SecurityMaintenanceUserName = "SecurityUser"; SecurityBasics.SecurityMaintenancePassword = "secusr" + DateTime.Now.Day.ToString(); SecurityBasics.SecurityMaintenanceUserPk = -2;
|
By Ivan George Borges - 10/13/2014
It might just be a typo then, but in your original message you stated that you use "secusr" to login, but then you have set your security user as "SecurityUser", according to your last message.
|
By Charles Thomas Blankenship - 10/13/2014
The code snippet is the accurate data ... here is an illustration of the problem ... the video is still appropriate too.
|
By Ivan George Borges - 10/15/2014
I have tried to reproduce this issue on my environment and haven't been able to. If you don't mind creating a small sample application using the SF Sample Database which reproduces this behavior, please do it and upload it over here so I can see if I am able to find something.
|
By Charles Thomas Blankenship - 10/21/2014
Hi Ivan:
Here is an example of the problem in a brand new StrataFrame WinForms app with Security. Here is the project all zipped up ... I included the .bak file for the associated database but you probably will not need that. Thanks for the continued support. C. T.
|
By Ivan George Borges - 10/21/2014
Hi Charles.
Your sample helped a lot, since as you stated, it didn't work over here either!
The thing is, I was testing with my applications, and I never remembered I had a fix on them already to make it work. It seems that there is a bug in the Security Module about the "SecurityMaintenanceKeyPrefix" and you can find all explanation about it on the following thread:
http://forum.strataframe.net/FindPost25258.aspx
Anyway, the short answer for this is to add the following line in your Program.cs and then you should be fine:
SecurityBasics.SecurityMaintenanceKeyPrefix = "Security ";
Hope it helps.
Cheers.
Ivan
|
By Charles Thomas Blankenship - 10/21/2014
Yep ... works great ... thanks for saving me the time of digging into the security module myself!
C. T.
|
By Ivan George Borges - 10/21/2014
You're most welcome.
|