StrataFrame Forum

Embedding Security into the application

http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic3497.aspx

By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

Hya.

I would like to embed the Security Application into my application.

I'm looking for some guidance in doing that.

Should I copy the SecurityMaintenance.EXE into my solution directory and just call it from the menu? I don't even know at this point how to call an external app.

Do I have to import the localized keys into the app localization project?

Thanks for your patience.

By Kevin Lingofelter - 10/11/2006

Hello Ivan!

using (MicroFour.StrataFrame.Security.SecurityDialog fsec = new SecurityDialog(false))
  {
    fsec.ShowDialog(
this);
  
}

The false in the custructor hides the permissions node. Simply use new SecurityDialog() to show the permissions node.

Hope this helps!

By StrataFrame Team - 10/11/2006

Hehe, I just wrote a help topic on how to call the security dialog in your app... but it's not in the release, yet.  No, you don't want to use the SecurityMaintenance.exe because it is for design-time only and requires the licensing.  However, you can call the SecurityDialog directly through one of 2 constructor overloads:

Sample – Showing the SecurityDialog [Visual Basic]

Imports MicroFour.StrataFrame.Security
...
Private Sub ShowSecurityDialog()
    '-- Create the form and show it
    Using loDialog As New SecurityDialog()
        loDialog.ShowDialog()
    End Using
End Sub

Sample – Showing the SecurityDialog without Permissions or Restriction Sets [Visual Basic]

Imports MicroFour.StrataFrame.Security
...
Private Sub ShowSecurityDialog()
    '-- Create the form and show it
    Using loDialog As New SecurityDialog()
        loDialog.ShowDialog(False, False)
    End Using
End Sub

By StrataFrame Team - 10/11/2006

Yes, Kevin's advice will work, but your version is probably in limbo... the constructor that accepts False is in the currently downloadable version, but the next udpate will have an overload that accepts False, False to hide both the permissions and the restriction sets (per Kevin's request Smile).
By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

Ben Chase (10/11/2006)
Yes, Kevin's advice will work, but your version is probably in limbo... the constructor that accepts False is in the currently downloadable version, but the next udpate will have an overload that accepts False, False to hide both the permissions and the restriction sets (per Kevin's request Smile).

What about hiding the users?BigGrin

By the way, thanks a lot to you both.

By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

WOW ... my application now has a complete Security module. In PORTUGUESE!

One last thing (what a lie) ... Do I need to import the localized keys into the application localization project? In the login form, when the user enters a wrong password, for instance, the messages are not localized, and I know for sure they've been translated.Wink

By StrataFrame Team - 10/11/2006

No, all of the localized values are embedded within the assembly, so you don't have to include them.  However, are you setting the MicroFour.StrataFrame.UI.Localization.MessageLocaleID = 1046? or is it still left at 1033?
By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

Ben Chase (10/11/2006)
No, all of the localized values are embedded within the assembly, so you don't have to include them.  However, are you setting the MicroFour.StrataFrame.UI.Localization.MessageLocaleID = 1046? or is it still left at 1033?

It is 1046, and what is strange, when set to 1033, the english message comes, when set to 1046, a "test" message appears! I need to find where this "test" is.

By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

huahuauahuahuah ... I tried 2058 (Spanish) and it works perfectly. All solved, I just have to persuade the other 179.999.999 brazilians to make the shift.BigGrin
By StrataFrame Team - 10/11/2006

You can blame this one on me Smile

The localized messages are there, and the framework is properly displaying them, it's just that a few of the Portuguese (sp?) messages within the data were somehow replaced with "test" messages or "t" messages or "asdf" messages.

But, we have the .tpe file still from when you sent it back to us, so we'll just re-import it and we'll be fixed.  I'll let you know when the next update is posted that will contain the proper messages.

The good news is that only the Portuguese was affected... Spanish, German, and English were ok.

By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

I see, it was personal then.

I bet it was Steve trying his knowledge on the portuguese language.

Now seriously, never mind, next update is really fine for me.

Thanks.

By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

Just to let you know.

The Messages_1046.XML file in the source code solution seems to be correct.

By StrataFrame Team - 10/11/2006

That's odd... because that's the one that gets embedded within the assembly... oh well, it was wrong in the database, so we know where it was coming from Smile
By StrataFrame Team - 10/11/2006

Ok, Ivan, the update is posted, so it's ready for you to download whenever you want your Portuguese messages back BigGrin
By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

Thanks Ben.

Amazing as always.

By Ivan George Borges - 10/11/2006

It's working perfectly.

Thanks.

By Trent L. Taylor - 10/11/2006

Great..I am glad to hear it...it won't happen again BigGrin