By Peter Jones - 6/5/2007
Hi,No doubt there is an easy solution to this but after serveral hours and failing to find it why not ask the experts? I have a project that contains a meu form (DevExpress NavBar) which is populated from the database. So, I click on an item and I now have a form name which I want to open. Here's the hard part - I can't find any way to iterate through all the forms in my project and .Show the right one, i.e. I can find a forms collection (open forms I can see but not all the forms in my project). I'm just about ready to write a large Case statement to, e.g Select Case FormName Case "Form1" My.Forms.Form1.Show() Case "Form2" My.Forms.Form2.Show() but obviously I don't want to do that. What's the best way of doing things? Cheers, Peter
|
By StarkMike - 6/6/2007
Peter, I too had trouble with this once... here's the help i received...
http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic8063-14-1.aspx
You'd think there SHOULD be an easier way to do this. Oh well.
|
By StrataFrame Team - 6/6/2007
Yep, the link that Mike pointed you to is correct... you'll need to use Type.GetType() and pass the full name of the form you want to show. So, something like this:DirectCast(Activator.CreateInstance(Type.GetType(FormName)), Form).Show() The Type.GetType() is a method that accepts a string name for the form (i.e.: "MyNamespace.MyFormName") and returns the System.Type for that form. The Activator.CreateInstance() accepts a type and creates a new instance of it through reflection to find the default constructor. The DirectCast just CTypes the returned object as a Form, and Show() is pretty self explanatory. So, the only change you'll need to make is to change the FormName that you're storing off in DevEx's menu from just "Form1" to "MyNamespace.Form1" so that you will have the full type name of the form you want to show.
|
By Ben Hayat - 6/6/2007
I just went thru that in C# and GetType (that is used in VB) threw me off until Ben (Chase) came to rescue.
|
By Greg McGuffey - 6/6/2007
Ben (Chase),
Could you post a little code sample that shows how to do this if you want to pass values to a constructor of the form? This topic is in the category of "I get it until I have to code it...then I'm confused"
|
By Peter Jones - 6/6/2007
Hi Guys,Thanks for your input and Ben, thanks for taken the time to explain what was happening in that line of code - very helpful. All in all this is sooooo depressing - it seems that every time I learn a bit more about .Net it only serves to underline how little I know!! Cheers, Peter
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/6/2007
The Activator accepts a Param Array as a second parameter which allows you to provide parms to the constructor of a created instance:Activator.CreateInstance(GetType(MyForm), New Object() {Parm1}) or
Activator.CreateInstance(GetType(MyForm), Parm1)
|
By Greg McGuffey - 6/6/2007
Thanks Trent. Slowly its starting to make sense....
|
By Peter Jones - 6/6/2007
Hi Guys,A follow up - I want to check if a form is already open before I instasiate a new one. I know (thought I knew) how to do this with (and other variations on this theme): Dim OpenForms As FormCollection OpenForms = Application.OpenForms ' Lets see if the form is already open and, if it is, bring it to the front. For i As Integer = 0 To System.Windows.Forms.Application.OpenForms.Count - 1 If OpenForms(i).Tag.ToString = e.Link.Item.Name.ToString Then OpenForms(i).WindowState = FormWindowState.Normal OpenTheForm = False Exit For End If Next However, OpenForms.Count always returns zero (even the first time in when just the menu form itself if running). I've been Googling madly to see if there is any reference to the OpenForms.Count being zero and I couldn't find anything - lots of reference to the property in examples of working code - no reference to any problems/caveats. Any ideas? Cheers, Peter
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/7/2007
If you are running your forms through an MDI environment then you can just reference the MDIChildren collection and create a method to tell you if it is running. We have a MenuSystem class that we pass all of our forms through and then create handlers so that the form will remove itself from our own collection. Either way will work. Below is a sample of how to reference the MDIChildren collection to see if a form is within the MDI collection.Private Function IsFormRunning(ByVal FormType As System.Type) As Boolean '-- Establish Locals Dim llReturn As Boolean = False '-- Cycle through all of the children forms within this MDI For Each loForm As Form In Me.MdiChildren llReturn = loForm.GetType() Is FormType If llReturn Then Exit For Next Return llReturn End Function
|
By Greg McGuffey - 6/7/2007
Would it be possible to put some logic into the form's themselves, to see if an instance is already running?
I.e. before the InitializeComponents is called in the constructor, check if the form is already instantiated. Maybe use a shared property to note if the form has been instantiated yet (and hold a reference to the instantiated form). Or maybe use a shared factory method to create the form instead of using New.
Not sure if this is feasible or if there is any way to cancel the instantiation of a form and instead return a reference to an existing instance, but I seem to recall reading about the Singleton pattern and doing it something like this.
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/7/2007
You can do that, but you first need to have a centralized collection that can be referenced. You are actually better off doing this outside of the instantiaion for one primary reason...speed and maintainability...OK, that is two reasons We created a shared class called MenuSystem which houses all of our instantiation logic. Security, form collections, multiple-instances, and whether the form will appear in the MDI window or on its own, all within one central location. Ours had to be a bit more specialized since it can launch VFP forms or .NET forms. But the logic is basically the same.You could even create a class that is passed to the MenuSystem that has all of the logic that you need that you could pass over....or just create a bunch of overloads to do this for you. It is just up to you, but the key is creating a class that launches all of your forms according to your environment and needs. Public Notineritable Class MenuSystem
Private Shared _MenuMdiClient As MDIClient Private Shared _Forms As New System.Collections.Generics.List(Of SYstem.Windows.Forms.Form)
'-- Reference to the MDI client to which all client forms will be added. Be sure to set this in your ' New of the parent that houses the MDI client. Public SHared Property MenuMdiClient As MDIClient Get Return _MenuMdiClient End Get Set(Byval value as MdiClient) _MenuMdiClient = value End Set End Property
'-- This collection contains all of the forms that are loaded Public Shared Readonly Property Forms As System.Collections.Generics.List(Of System.Windows.Forms.Form) Get Return _Forms End Get End Property
'-- Central method to load all of the Public Shared Sub LaunchForm(ByVal FormType As System.Type, Byval SecurityKey As String, Byval SingleInstance As Boolean) '-- Establish Locals Dim loForm As System.WIndows.Forms.Form
If SecurityBasics.CurrentUser.GetPermission(SecurityKey).Action = Grant Then '-- Check for a single instance If SingleInstance AndAlso FormIsRunning(FormType) Then Exit Sub End If
'-- Create and launch the form loForm = CType(Activator.CreateInstance(FormType), System.WIndows.Forms.Form) loForm.MdiParent = _MenuMdiClient
'-- Create a handler so it can remove itself from the collection AddHandler loForm.FormClosed, Addressof HandleFormClosed
loForm.Show() End If
Private Shared Function FormIsRunning(Byval FormType As System.Type) As Boolean Dim llReturn As Boolean = False
For Each loForm As Form In _Forms If loForm.GetType() Is FormType Then llReturn = True Exit For End If Next
Return llReturn End Function
Private Shared Sub HandleFormClosed(Byval sender as Object, Byval e as System.EventArgs) _Forms.Remove(CType(sender, Form)) End Sub End Class
|
By Greg McGuffey - 6/7/2007
This is why StrataFrame ROCKS!
Thanks Trent! This really (finally) clears up what you've mentioned a bunch of times in different posts about how to handle opening forms in an Application. I really appreciate it.
|
By Trent L. Taylor - 6/7/2007
No problem I just typed this out in the post and did not bring it in from code, so if you have an issue with what I posted let me know. But it should at least get you most of the way there.
|