StrataFrame Forum

How do I rebuild the DevExpress wrapper?

http://forum.strataframe.net/Topic14741.aspx

By Juan Carlos Pazos - 3/8/2008

ErmmHi

I recently purchase StrataFrame, actually I have VS 2088 and StrataFrame 1.6.5, also DexExpress 7.3.7, running in Windows Vista.

I found that I need to rebuild the wrapper, after look at source files I found that the Project Microfour StrataFrame Inherited UI has references to DevExpress

But here is my problem, I restore the references to my actual DevExpress version, What are the next steps.

Hope you can help me in a step by step, I'm newbie to VB.NET and all this.

Kindest regards

Juan Carlos Pazos

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/9/2008

All that needs to be be done is to open the MicroFour Inherited UI solution.  Once this is done, follow these steps:

  1. Open up the references and replace the 7.3.5 references with the same assemblies of the 7.3.7 version assemblies.
  2. Remove the older assembly references which will be in error (7.3.5 version)
  3. Right-click the solution and then click Rebuild solution (not just build)
  4. This should then rebuild the solution and place the updated assemblies in the GAC (c:\windows\assembly).
  5. At this point it is generally best to get out of Visual Studio and then come back in.
  6. You should be able to use your new assemblies that have been compiled in 7.3.7.
By Juan Carlos Pazos - 3/9/2008

Hi

Thanks for your fast answer, I did what you indicate, and have oner error and one warning.

I receive this error when rebuilding:

Error 1 The command ""C:\Program Files\MicroFour\StrataFrame Source Code\MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI\AfterBuild.bat" "C:\Program Files\MicroFour\StrataFrame Source Code\MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI\bin\Release\MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI.dll" "C:\Program Files\MicroFour\StrataFrame Source Code\MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI\bin\Release\MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI.xml"" exited with code 9009. MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI

And this warning:

Warning 2 'Public Property EnumTopMostText() As String' is obsolete: 'This property has been depreciated and is no longer used.  Use the TopMostText and TopMostValue properties on the SearchFieldItem class instead.'. C:\Program Files\MicroFour\StrataFrame Source Code\MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI\DevExpress Extended\Dialogs\browsedialogwindow.vb 1126 77 MicroFour StrataFrame Inherited UI

Is there a way to solve?

Regards

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/9/2008

Extract the attached ZIP file and copy the .BAT file to the c:\ folder.  I guess that we didn't redirect this afterbuild.bat to look in the extract source folder...but no big deal.  Just copy the contents of this ZIP file to c:\ and you should be good.  You can ignore the exception, we have just never changed the DevExpress wrapper but this property still functions on the DevExpress side.
By Juan Carlos Pazos - 3/9/2008

Hi

Thanks again, I did what you indicate and again got the same error, I copy the StrataFrame source files from Programa Files to the Projets directory in My documents and all works.

Next I create a new proyect, and then add a SF DevEx Maintenance Form four make a test, and now I have this errors:

1) Warning 1 Could not find type 'MicroFour.StrataFrame.UI.Windows.Forms.DevEx.MaintenanceFormBarManager'.  Please make sure that the assembly that contains this type is referenced.  If this type is a part of your development project, make sure that the project has been successfully built.  0 0 

2) Warning 2 Could not find type 'MicroFour.StrataFrame.UI.Windows.Forms.DevEx.GradientFormHeader'.  Please make sure that the assembly that contains this type is referenced.  If this type is a part of your development project, make sure that the project has been successfully built.  0 0 

3) Warning 3 The variable 'GradientFormHeader1' is either undeclared or was never assigned. C:\Users\Juan Carlos\AppData\Local\Temporary Projects\StrataFrame-DevExpress\Form2.Designer.vb 71 0 

I review the references and I have references to DevExpress Data, utils XtraBars, xTraEditors and XtraGrid also to StrataFrame base, Inherited and UI too.

Apologyze my ignorance, wait for you advise.

Regards

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/10/2008

All the messages that you gave were warnings.  Did the assembly build and get copied to the GAC as well as the c:\program files\common files\microfour\strataframe folder (you may need to adjust the path for your language)?  If you then go and try to add the DevExpress wrapped control on a form does it work?  Be sure to get out of VS and then go back in before trying to use the assembly.
By Juan Carlos Pazos - 3/10/2008

Hi

The IDE show's that the solution was

I just follow the instructions, change references and rebuild. How do I check if the assmbly where copied to the folders?

Regards

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/10/2008

How do I check if the assmbly where copied to the folders?

It should have indicated that two files were copied in the Output window.  But you can just check the c:\program files\common files\microfour\strataframe folder to see if teh MicroFour Inherited UI.dll and MicroFour Inheited UI.xml files were updated.  You should have also see a message in the output window saying "Assembly successfully added to cache" or something along those lines.   or just try to use the DevExpress wrapper in your applicaiton...if you don't get any errors, you're good. Smile

By Juan Carlos Pazos - 3/10/2008

Hi again.

I'm feeling very stupid. But not works.

Every time I rebuild the solution I only get that the the solution was reubuild sucessfully, noy otput window and not copy any files. If I check the Bin directory the files are there

I thin that the problem is where I have StrataFrame sources.

Originally I put the sources in C:\Program Files\MicroFour\StrataFrame Source Code the other folder there is C:\Program Files\MicroFour\StrataFrame but at any moment put anything there.

In that location the errors where the first one I commented.

Then I move to C:\Users\Juan Carlos\Documents\Visual Studio 2008\Projects\StrataFrame Source Code

I put the file you give me in same location.

Hope you can tell me where the sources must be build?

Regards

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/11/2008

.NET is designed to look in the GAC first.  So you need to have the assemblies in your GAC.  Second, we have a registry key that works in conjunction with .NET that points to the StrataFrame assemblies and the XML (documentation files) in the c:\program files\common files\microfour\strataframe folder.  Since your primary language is probably Spanish and your OS is Spanish, then the folder would accomodate your language.  These are the two places that you need to have the StrataFrame assemblies.  If you open up the AfterBuild.bat file, you can change the paths to point to the correct folder location which could be part of the problem.  By default this is set for English.

I'm feeling very stupid. But not works.

Don't feel this way!  We have all been there before, just keep working through the problem and this is a valuable learning experience for you because what you are learning is more than StrataFrame here.  You are learning how .NET interacts with the assemblies, GAC, and references.

By Juan Carlos Pazos - 3/15/2008

Hi

I spend all week trying in every way I could imagine to register the assmblies correctly. But all fails.

In all cases the same error. I make a video with all the steps I follow, please can you take a look at it and point me in the right path.

The video is in www.datafox.com/videos/strataframe/StrataFrame_DevExpress.html

I'm considering unistall DevExpress 7.3.8 and install the 7.3.5 the one you provide for the wrapper, but the we are very interested in use the new DevExpress version 2008 actually in preview release, that's why if possible I want to be able to reabuild the wrapper.

Thanks for your valuable support.

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/18/2008

Juan,

I will download the latest DevExpress version today and see if I can rebuild this assembly for you and just post it.

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/19/2008

I have posted the updated 7.3.8 assembly here: http://forum.strataframe.net/FindPost15029.aspx .  You can just use these assemblies versus trying to recompile them yourself.

Hope this gets you going...sorry it took so long, I just had to get the latest version downloaded and installed and I have been very busy lately.

By Juan Carlos Pazos - 3/19/2008

Thanks

I really apreciate your help. It was not too much time, I perfectly understand that you have a lot of things to do.

Regards.

By Trent L. Taylor - 3/20/2008

Glad to help Smile