CRUD via Stored Procedures or not?

Author
Charles Thomas Blankenship
StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)StrataFrame User (350 reputation)
Group: Awaiting Activation
I've been using StrataFrame for over five years now and I've never pondered this question too hard ... until now.

You have two options when choosing the methods to perform an Update, Insert and Delete ... either provide a CRUD stored procedure (automatically generated by the DDT) or let the framework handle it.

I've currently made the choice to used Stored Procedures ... but I am beginning to doubt my decision for the following reasons:  1) it loads up the stored procedure list with the number of tables times three 2) I have to set six additional properties on each of the BOs. 

As everyone knows, the more code there is and the more properties modified the more opportunities there are to introduce bugs into the system.

So, the big question is this:  Why would anyone choose to go the stored procedure route?

PS:  If one looks at the Table Properties for one of the RBS tables like SFSRoles, the M4 guys use the stored procedure option.  So, what is their reasoning for it?

Thanks,

Charles T. Blankenship
Senior Consultant
Novant Consulting, Inc.
http://www.novantconsulting.com
StrataFrame Team
S
StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)
Group: StrataFrame Developers