Question about connections

Author
Greg McGuffey
Strategic Support Team Member (2.7K reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I'm very new to this (using the trial edition, v1.5) and have a question about connections. I would like to connect to different databases (dev, test, prod, etc.) so the connection manager is very nice for this. However, I also would like to a single logon to the database, then use the security module to authenticate users, etc. and NOT have them authenticate directly against SQL Server.

I.e. I would like to use a normal web app like system, the app can connect, via a known, but secure username and password to SQL Server, the users authenticate against a table or Windows (less likely) to get access to the app. I would like to use this in both WinForm and WebForm apps.

I see that the Web sample is using the DataLayer.DataSources.Add, while the WinForms use ConnectionManager.AddRequiredDataSourceItem. What's the difference?

Also, what are your suggestions for storing the connection information (username, password especially) for a WinForm or WebForm app? How to change easily? Any way to allow users to change? (Mainly for testers).

Thanks!

Greg
StrataFrame Team
S
StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)StrataFrame Developer (3.5K reputation)
Group: StrataFrame Developers
The difference between the AddRequiredDataSourceItem and the DataSources.Add() is that the first is used by the connection manager to give enough information to gather the connection string and call DataSources.Add() internally, while the second just adds the data source manually without using the ConnectionManager at all.